Like a Geek God #16: That Old Disney Magic

Since I have a female boner for the dude/prince/cursed warrior guy in Princess Mononoke, I had to reblog this. Can I please be your wolf princess?

The Drunken Odyssey

Like a Geek God #16 by Mark Pursell

That Old Disney Magic

 I had no intention of ever seeing Frozen.

Frozen

Now, please understand.  I’m a Disneyphile.  I have a deep, permanent affection for the fairy-tale musicals of the Disney Renaissance, not to mention the Golden Age classics like Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs and Sleeping Beauty.  I want nothing more than for Disney to make movies that capture that same magical spirit you find in The Little Mermaid and Beauty and the Beast.  But having seen and intensely disliked 2010’s Tangled, a milquetoast Rapunzel riff, I didn’t have a lot of confidence that Disney possessed the talent and the wherewithal to make another great fairy-tale musical.  I was also predisposed to dislike Frozen because it represents the final, meat-machine incarnation of a “Snow Queen” adaptation that had been in and out of development hell at…

View original post 1,043 more words

Leave a Reply

